

## ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING RECAPITULATION THE PAULINE NEWMAN IP AMERICAN INN OF COURT TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 17, 2015



The first Inn meeting of the 2015-2016 year (the Inn's fifth year) took place in the Auditorium below the Atrium in the Madison Building of the headquarters of the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office in Alexandria, Virginia. It was held on Constitution Day, the 228<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the day that the Constitutional Convention proposed the Constitution of the United States and submitted it for ratification by the states.

There was an initial reception beginning at 6:00 p.m. at which food and drinks were served. The presentation began after 7:00 p.m.

President Judge Hubert C. Lorin of the Patent Trial and Appeal Board ("PTAB") introduced the other Officers of the Inn for 2015-2016, including: President-Elect Judge Theodore R. Essex of the International Trade Commission ("ITC"); Judicial Counselors Judges Pauline Newman (the Inn's namesake) and Richard Linn of the Federal Circuit, and Judges Liam O'Grady and John Anderson of the Eastern District of Virginia; USPTO Counselors Judge Glenn J. Perry (PTAB) and Bill Stoffel (PTAB); Teresa Stanek Rea (former head of the USPTO, now of Crowell & Moring); Administrator Erin Dunston (Buchanan



Ingersoll); Secretary Stephen Swift (Swift & Swift); Treasurer John Williamson (Finnegan); Program Co-Chairs Judge Hung Bui (PTAB) and Judge Jason Morgan (PTAB); Membership Committee Co-Chairs Judge Lora Green (PTAB) and Douglas H. Pearson (Jones Day); Social Committee Co-Chairs Lisa Mandrusiak (Oblon) and Tammy Goddard (USPTO); Mentoring & Award Committee Co-Chairs Judge James T. Moore (PTAB) and Jonathan Miller (Greenblum & Berstein); Reporting Committee Chair Nelson Giddins (USPTO); Liason Committee Co-Chairs Richard A. Sterba (Fish & Richardson) and Abby Lin (USPTO); CLE Chair David Werner (USPTO); and Outreach Co-Chairs James Wilcox (Buchanan Ingersoll) and Elizabeth Dougherty (USPTO).



It was announced that October 1 was the deadline for paying dues. Anyone who knows of someone interested in becoming a member of the Inn is encouraged to contact the Membership Co-Chairs.

Initiatives for the new Inn year include mentoring, outreach, and an Inn logo design contest. The program schedule for 2015-2016 was announced, including Hot Topics in Copyrights (October 15, 2015 at the USPTO), IP Professors (November 10, 2015 at the USPTO), Joint Holiday Meeting with the Giles Rich Inn (December 16, 2015 at the Dolley Madison House), Ethics (January 14, 2016), International IP Issues (February 16, 2016 at the USPTO), Negotiation Tournament (March 17, 2016 at the USPTO), the Patent Pilot Program (April 20, 2016 at the U.S. Courthouse for the Eastern District of Virginia, Alexandria Division), and the Annual Dinner Meeting (May 18, 2016). Pupilage groups and student members have an

important role in the Inn.

Pam Wittmann, the Southeast Region Director of Chapter Relations for the American Inns of Court, presented the Inn with a certificate designating the Newman Inn as having achieved a Platinum level of excellence. Platinum is the highest level, which our Inn have reached after only four years in existence. The Newman Inn reached the Bronze level after only two years, reached the Silver level last year, and now has skipped over the Gold level to go straight to Platinum. The levels of excellence are based on an Inn's progress toward mastering effective practices in each of five core competencies of Inn management: administration, communications, programs, mentoring and outreach.

Judge Pauline Newman discussed the history of the Inns of Courts.





President Lorin thanked last year's President Rea and last year's Executive Board for their service. He announced that this year's Inn theme will be Enlightenment, and discussed the history of the Enlightenment of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. Roger Bacon's *New Atlantis* inspired the creation of the Royal Society. This led to an explosion of scientific societies in America, and the patent and copyright clause of the Constitution.

The program concluded after 8:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Stephen Christopher Swift

Secretary